Untamed Horizons Homepage


 Tanzania is East Africa’s largest country, located just south of the equator. After achieving independence from Britain in 1961 and 1963 respectively, Tanganyika and Zanzibar merged in 1964 to form the United Republic of Tanzania. The first president, Julius K. Nyerere, ruled for two decades before retiring and he is sometimes referred to as Baba wa Taifa - Father of the nation.

Tanzania’s official capital is Dodoma, but it is the major seaport city of Dar-es-Salaam which is the commercial centre of Tanzania and the de-facto seat of most government institutions.

The official language is Kiswahili, but English is widely spoken. Tanzania is home to over 120 ethnic groups so there are also a large variety of local African languages and dialects spoken throughout the country.

The flag of Tanzania is green, golden, black and blue, symbolizing the land, the mineral wealth, the people and the waters.

The Coat of Arms of Tanzania comprises a warriors shield.


The golden top above the national flag, again represents the mineral wealth. Its burning torch signifies freedom, enlightenment and knowledge;
The red colour symbolizes the rich fertile soil of Africa, while the wavy bands represent the land, sea, lakes and coastal line.

The up-right spear signifies watchfulness and defence of freedom while the crossed axe and hoe are symbols for development.

The shield is framed by a pair of tusks, the traditional symbol of power, and rests on  Mount Kilimanjaro. It is supported by a man with a clove bush and a woman with a cottonbush, indicating the theme of co-operation.

The Swahili motto reads “Uhuru na Umoja”   -  Freedom and Unity.

Click here sound to listen to the national anthem of Tanzania.


Copyright © 2010  Untamed Horizons Camps and Safaris LTD
Website Development by Kondwana Media
Preferred Hosting by MyNetHost